SHANNON BOXX & LUPUS AWARENEWSS MONTH

Shannon Boxx LupusMay is #LupusAwarenessMonth. Follow @lupusorg & visit http://lupus.org/awareness  to help join the fight against lupus.  In 2011 Shannon Boxx made it public that she suffered from lupus – she had been diagnosed in 2007 when she was 30 years old.  Her symptoms were typical extreme exhaustion from doing the same workouts she had become used to over the previous years.   She has been quoted explaining her condition “As an elite athlete, it is my job to maintain a high fitness level, as well as sustain a strong mentality. Now add in a disease where my main symptoms are extreme fatigue and joint pain, and that standard becomes a little bit more difficult to maintain.  I am very fortunate that I have finally found a medicine that helps control my symptoms, but a few years ago that wasn’t the case.

I remember in 2010 going to training sessions completely exhausted and my knees throbbing from all my joint pain. I remember willing myself through those training sessions and then getting home and lying on the couch the rest of the day.

Mentally, I was exhausted because I was trying to figure out the right medicines to use; I was dealing with side effects from those medicines and I was keeping it a secret from my teammates.”

This week Shannon had surgery to deal with a nagging knee injury unrelated to the lupus.  According to her recent Tweets she’s feeling good and she’s happy the surgery went well.  Evidently she doesn’t have much patience for recovery and is already antsy.  I’m looking forward to her return to the Chicago Red Stars in about six weeks.   Stay strong Boxxy.

Leave a Reply

