With New Zealand’s two-leg victory over Papua New Guinea (March 31 and April 4; 15-0 aggregate), the Football Ferns became the final team to qualify for the London Olympic Games, winning the Oceania Olympic qualifiers for the second time. Now the 12-team field is set, and the draw for the group stage will take place April 24.

The 12 teams will be split amongst four groups. The following is the list of teams and how they qualified; Great Britain is an automatic entry as the hosts.

New Zealand (won Oceania Football Confederation qualifiers)
Japan (winners of Asian Football Confederation qualifiers)
North Korea (2nd place at Asian Football Confederation qualifiers)
South Africa and Cameroon (top two teams at CAF qualifiers)
Brazil (Winners of 2010 CONMEBOL qualifiers)
Colombia (2nd place at 2010 CONMEBOL qualifiers)
United States (winners of CONCACAF qualifiers)
Canada (2nd place at CONCACAF qualifiers)
Sweden (by reaching semifinals at 2011 FIFA World Cup)
France (by reaching semifinals at 2011 FIFA World Cup)

The women’s soccer tournament at the London Olympics begins on July 25 and runs through Aug. 9. The matches will take place at six venues – City of Coventry Stadium, (Coventry); Hampden Park (Glasgow); Millennium Stadium (Cardiff); Old Trafford (Manchester); St James’ Park (Newcastle); and Wembley Stadium.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s