It’s unfortunate that Alex Morgan lost out on the “Hyundai Best Young Player” award, given to the best player under 21 years of age at the start of the calendar year (first awarded in 2006.)  Australia’s Caitlin Foord won the award.   The 16-year-old Sydney FC forward impressed sufficiently in the three games she played at to impress the judges and win. On the committee was American April Heinreichs, former US team coach and a member of FIFA’s technical study group.

Marta currently leads the Golden Boot race with 4 goals, the fewest for a winner at the Women’s World Cup.  The previous low was 6 by Aarones (NOR) in 1995.  Japan’s Homare Sawa has 4 goals & Nahomi Kawasumi 2 goals, the US’s Abby Wambach has 3 goals & Lauren Cheney has 2 goals.

Three #USWNT players are up for the 2011 Women’s World Cup Golden Ball,                                      commercially termed “The Adidas Golden Ball,” for best player.  I would love one of the players from the #USWNT to win.  Go #USA!!!

The players up for the award are:

      • Abby Wambach

      • Lauren Cheney

      • Hope Solo


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s