More Qualifiers: Equatorial Guinea & Nigeria

African countries Equatorial Guinea and Nigeria will represent the continent of Africa at next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011™ in Germany after reaching the final of the CAF African Women’s Championship in Daveyton, South Africa, on Thursday, 11 November 2010.

Equatorial Guinea beat South Africa 3-1 to reach the finals for the first time.
Nigeria won 5-1 against Cameroon to qualify for their sixth time.

President Steffi Jones’ congratulatory letter included the following sentiments: “We’re all very excited about Equatorial Guinea’s first ever appearance at a Women’s World Cup. This success deserves recognition, coming as it does after an extremely impressive footballing performance against strong teams like Cameroon, Algeria, Ghana and South Africa. Newcomers always add flair to the World Cup,”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s